Providing Leadership and Service for Women Since 1983

Meet our 2020 Board of Directors 

Honorary Members - To be Announced

President: Angela Pontes

Angela Pontes is currently Legislative Director for Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry.


Prior to returning to the Capitol to serve in Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon's office, Angela worked in the Third House as a Legislative Coordinator and Advocate at Gonzalez, Quintana & Hunter, representing a range of clients. She also spent time working with the former First Lady of California, Maria Shriver, on her research and communications project titled "The Shriver Report: A Woman’s Nation Pushes Back from the Brink." Angela graduated from Georgetown University, where she majored in International Health and Spanish Language, and was also an NCAA Division I athlete.

Vice President: Michelle Reyes

Michelle Reyes joined Political Solutions in 2017 where she serves as an associate lobbyist. She has a distinguished background in media relations, public affairs, political campaigns, and public service. In her current capacity as an associate lobbyist she helps clients on an array of issues navigate through the complex world of politics and policy in the state Legislature. Prior to joining Political Solutions, Michelle served as a Communications Director in the California State Assembly, where she used strategic and instinctual media relations to help drive messaging on social media and to key constituencies and audiences at the local, state, and national level. She also created original content and imagery to help deliver key messages, and identified media opportunities and pitfalls. Michelle has also served as Communications Director for the California Latino Legislative Caucus. During this time, she spearheaded statewide and nationally targeted media efforts to address issues that impact the Latino community.

Secretary: Amber King

Treasurer: Sakshi Walia

Immediate Past President: Rachael O’Brien 

Rachael O’Brien currently serves as the Deputy Secretary for Legislative Affairs of the California Department of Food and Agriculture for Governor Newsome’s Administration. Rachael was previously appointed as Assistant Secretary in December 2017 by Governor Edmund G. Brown. Prior to joining CDFA, Rachael served as Manager of Government Affairs at the Agricultural Council of California, representing approximately 15,000 farmers across the state, ranging from small, farmer-owned businesses, to some of the world’s best-known brands. Rachael also served as a Legislative Advocate for Gonzalez, Quintana & Hunter, LLC, focusing on energy, water, climate and air quality policy. Rachael also worked as an Associate for EcoConsult, an environmental consulting firm, and held an internship position with then-Assemblymember Skinner’s Capitol office. Rachael is a graduate of California State University, Monterey Bay.

Members At Large:

Julie Phillips

Julie Phillips is Vice President at Randle Communications. Previous to joining Randle Communications, Julie worked in the State Senate as a Legislative Aide and Communications Director. Julie is an alumni of the California Senate Fellowship program. Julie is also a graduate of University of California, Davis.

Margo Parks

Margo Parks joined the WSPA team in November 2017 as Manager, California Policy Advocate. Drawing on her experience advocating for both a trade association and a contract lobby firm, Margo works with WSPA’s members, navigating policy and politics to help achieve the organization’s goals in the legislature. Prior to joining WSPA, Margo was a lobbyist at Political Solutions LLC, where she worked on a wide range of policy issues including energy and natural resources. Prior to working at Political Solutions, Margo was employed by the California Cattlemen’s Association, and in the California Senate Fellows program. Margo graduated cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in American Studies from Scripps College, Claremont, Calif.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software